Quad City Steamwheelers

Quad City Steamwheelers – About, History

This post is about a now-defunct arena football team known as Quad City Steamwheelers.


  • Founded on September 1, 1999, and folded in 2009
  • Owned by Jim Foster
  • Played their home games in the iWireless Center, Moline, Illinois, USA, from 2000 to 2009

Let’s get down to business!

Who are the Quad City Steamwheelers?

The Quad City Steamwheelers is an American pro arena football team that existed for about a decade, from 1999 to 2009. They operated as a charter member of the AF2, the Arena Football League’s developmental league. Their last uniform consisted of three colors: Scarlet red, navy blue, and gold.

Quad City Steamwheelers logo
Quad City Steamwheelers logo

In December 2009, the team dissolved for refusing to join the new Arena Football League when the af2 disassembled, and the original league underwent bankruptcy.


The Quad City Steamwheelers had eight payoffs before it folded in 2009. Frank Haege was their first head coach, managing the team between 2000 and 2001. They were the undisputed champions in the league for the first two seasons. With 24 consecutive wins, the team set a record for the longest winning streak in the af2. The Steamwheelers were banned from participating in the 2002 playoffs for alleged rules violations involving salary caps during the second season.

Quad City Steamwheelers team
Quad City Steamwheelers team

The team soon hired Rich Ingold as their new head coach between 2002 and 2004. After the season, Rich Ingold left the team and was replaced by Milwaukee Mustangs’ former coach, Rick Frazier. Unfortunately, the team lost the 2006 season.

The Steamwheelers had a new ownership, which made them change their leadership by making their offensive coordinator assume their head coach’s position, Sean Ponder.

After the af2 disbanded in 2009, the team had to cease operations after wanting to join the Indoor Football League (IFL) and the newly re-formed Arena Football League.

A new Steamwheelers football team emerged but operated differently from the former team.

Season Records

Below are the win and loss records of the Quad City Steamwheelers football team since they started playing in the year 2000:

2000 Season Wins

  • Won 55–19, Round 1 against the Pensacola Barracudas
  • Won 75–27, Semifinal against the Norfolk Nighthawks
  • Won 68–59 and earned the ArenaCup for playing against the Tennessee Valley Vipers

2001 Season Wins

  • Won 80–55, Round 1 against the Macon Knights
  • Won 35–16, Semifinal against the Carolina Rhinos
  • Won 55–51 and earned the ArenaCup for playing against the Richmond Speed

2003 Season Loss – Lost 63–61 by the Texas Revolution (Arkansas)

2004 Season Loss – Lost 53–48 by the Louisville Fire

2005 Season Loss – Lost 56–38 by the Rio Grande Valley Dorados

2007 Season Loss – Lost 39–34 by the Green Bay Blizzard

2008 Season Loss – Lost 57–29 by the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Pioneers


The Quad City Steamwheelers did not qualify for the playoffs of the 2006 and 2009 seasons. That means they participated only in the 2000-2005, 2007, and 2008 playoffs.

Related: DC Defenders – About, History, and Other Relevant Information.

Don’t hesitate to share this post with your family and friends.

Also Read: About the Massachusetts Pirates.

More Reading

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *