Massachusetts Pirates

About the Massachusetts Pirates

This post is about a Massachusetts-based indoor football team known as the Massachusetts Pirates.


  • Founded in 2017 and owned by Hassan and Jawad Yatim
  • An IFL member, headquartered in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
  • Uses the Tsongas Center as their home stadium

Let’s get rolling!

Who are the Massachusetts Pirates?

The Massachusetts Pirates is an American pro indoor football team established in 2017. Their headquarters is in Lowell, Massachusetts, where they play their home games at the Tsongas Center, in Lowell, Massachusetts. They are current members of the Indoor Football League (IFL).

Massachusetts Pirates logo

Their team colors are white, gold, navy, and Teal.


The Massachusetts Pirates has had five playoff appearances since its founding. It initially played its home games at the DCU Center in downtown Worcester, Massachusetts, from 2018 to 2023. The team has acquired the Tsongas Center for the 2024 season. They started playing with the National Arena League (NAL) in the 2018 season.

The Pirates are the first indoor football team to be based in Lowell. Their headquarters was formerly in Worcester, Massachusetts, USA. The team was also the third indoor football team to have its headquarters in Worcester, following the Massachusetts Marauders and the New England Surge.

Massachusetts Pirates team

League Affiliations

Below are the Massachusetts Pirates’ league and conference affiliations since their formation:

  • 2018–2020 – National Arena League (NAL)
  • 2021–present – Indoor Football League (IFL)
    • From the year 2022 till now – Eastern Conference

Management and Staff

Here’s a list of the Massachusetts Pirates football team’s management and coaching staff members:

  • Co-owner, CEO – Hassan Yatim
  • Co-owner, President, General Manager – Jawad Yatim
  • Director of Football Personnel Development – Patrick Pass
  • Offensive Assistant – Mardy Gilyard
  • Head Coach – Mark Stoute

Players Roster

The following players are currently in the Massachusetts Pirates’ team:


  • #15 Alejandro Bennifield
  • Trevone Boykin

Running Backs

  • #22 Reynaldo Flores
  • #5 Tavion Thomas

Wide Receivers

  • #7 Darren Carrington II
  • #81 Thomas Owens
  • #88 Isaac Zico

Offensive Linemen

  • #77 Navaughn Donaldson
  • #70 Justin Morgan
  • #68 Hunter Kelly

Defensive Linemen

  • #97 Lorenzo Hernandez
  • #98 Will Kiely
  • #50 Julius Turner
  • #55 Marcus Webb Jr.


  • #19 Calvin Bundage

Defensive Backs

  • Eugene Ford
  • #4 Momodou Mbye
  • Antonio Mitchell
  • Jaylan Shaw

Special Teams

  • #23 Josh Gable

Season Records

Below is a record of the Massachusetts Pirates’ seasonal wins and losses:

Season-by-season wins

2021 Season Wins:

  • Won 44–19, playing against the Bismarck Bucks
  • Won 43–22 in the IFL semifinal, playing against the Frisco Fighters
  • Won 37–34, playing against the Arizona Rattlers

Season-by-season losses

  • 2018 – Defeated 36–50 by the Columbus Lions in the NAL semifinal
  • 2019 – Defeated 26–30 by the Carolina Cobras in the NAL semifinal
  • 2022 – Defeated 38–39 by the Quad City Steamwheelers in the IFL quarterfinals
  • 2023 – Defeated 39–42 by the Sioux Falls Storm in the IFL quarterfinals

Head Coaches History

The following are the Massachusetts Pirates football team record of head coaches since its formation in 2017/18:

  • 2018 – Ameer Ismail
  • 2019 – Anthony Payton
  • 2020–2021 – Patrick Pass (2021 United Bowl Champion)
  • 2022 – Rayshaun Kizer
  • 2023–present – Mark Stoute

Related: Seattle Sea Dragons – Everything To Know About The Team.

Feel free to comment below and share this post with your family and friends.

Also Read: Jacksonville Sharks – History, Affiliations, Coaching Staff.

More Reading

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *