Los Angeles Wildcats

Los Angeles Wildcats – History, Players and Lots More.


  • Their home stadium was at Dignity Health Sports Park Carson, California
  • Their official team colors were Black, red and light orange.
  • Team president was Heather Brooks Karatz

About Los Angeles Wildcats

The Los Angeles Wildcats popularly known as LA Wildcats were a professional football team based in Los Angeles, California, US. The team was founded by Alpha Entertainments, run by Vince McMahon under the Exclusive Football League (XFL) in 2018.

They played their home games at Dignity Health Sports Park and their team colors were Black, red and light orange.

The team president was Heather Brooks Karatz and the head coach was Winston Moss.

Read on to find out more about the Los Angeles Wildcats and their replacement in the XFL.


On December 5, 2018, Los Angeles joined the Exclusive Football League (XFL) as one of its inaugural cities.

Other areas where the XFL operated in 2018 are New York, St. Louis, Dallas, Tampa Bay, Seattle and Houston.

Six months after, Winston Moss was hired as the first head coach of the Los Angeles XFL franchise.

On August 21, 2019, the team logo was unveiled and the team name was announced as Los Angeles Wildcats.

The first player signed by the Los Angeles Wildcats was Luis Perez, a one time quarterback at Birmingham Iron.

Luis joined the Wildcats on October 15, 2019. Shortly after, the New York Guardians bought him.

The Los Angeles Wildcats played its first game on February 8, 2020. 

In their first match, they played against the Houston Roughnecks and they lost to the Roughnecks by a score of 37-17.

The Wildcats had their first win in the 2020 season games in their match against the DC Defenders.

They defeated the Defenders with a score of 39-9 on February 23, 2020.

In March, 2020, the remaining XFL season was canceled as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Before then the Wildcats won against the Tampa Bay Vipers by 41-34 in the final game of the 2020 XFL season.

On April 10, 2020, the XFL suspended its operations, so the Wildcats ended the season with a 2–3 record.

During the time of the pandemic, the XFL was sold and its new owners announced the reactivation of the league on July 24, 2022.

They also announced that the Los Angeles Wildcats would not return to the league and their place would be taken by the San Antonio Brahmas.

Los Angeles Wildcats


  • General manager – Winston Moss
  • Director of player personnel – Joey Clinkscales
  • Director of football operations – Charles Bailey
  • Manager of football operations – Ty Knott


  • Head coach – Winston Moss
  • Assistant head coach/tight ends – Ty Knott
  • Offensive coordinator/quarterbacks – Norm Chow
  • Running backs – Dave Atkins
  • Receivers – Mike Wilson
  • Offensive line – Jerry Fontenot
  • Offensive quality control – Kade Rannings
  • Defensive line – Vince Amey
  • Defensive backs – Otis Smith
  • Defensive quality control – Al Brown
  • Special teams coordinator/safeties – Martin Bayless


According to their final roster, the Los Angeles Wildcats had 57 active players and ten inactive players.

A few of their notable players include Josh Johnson, Chad Kanoff, Winston Dimel, DuJuan Harris, Sergio Bailey and Saeed Blacknall.

Two of their players played for National Football League (NFL) teams. Their names and the NFL teams they played for are;

  • Storm Norton – New Orleans Saints
  • Josh Johnson – Baltimore Ravens

The Los Angeles Wildcats had Ryan Navarro, Giorgio Tavecchio and Shane Tripucka in their special team.

Their 2020 season reserve list was made up of Willie Mays, Kahlil McKenzie, Anthony Morris, Nick Novak, Brandon Barnes, etc.

Los Angeles Wildcats


The Los Angeles Wildcats had about seven rivals including Vegas Vipers, DC Defenders, Houston Roughnecks, Orlando Guardians and Arlington Renegades.

They finished the 2020 regular season games with a 28.5% win, 43% loss and 28.5% tie.

They lost to the Houston Roughnecks, Orlando Guardians and Arlington Renegades by 0-1.

The Los Angeles Wildcats won in their games against the Vegas Vipers and DC Defenders by 1-0.

In their matches against the Seattle Sea Dragons and the St. Louis Battlehawks they finished with 0-0.


The Los Angeles Wildcats had some notable records in their final season games.

Some of their prominent players and the records they set includes;

  • Josh Johnson with a record of 1,092 passing yards
  • Elijah Hood with a record of 78 rushing yards
  • Nelson Spruce with a record of 267 receiving yards
  • Winston Moss with 2 coaching wins
  • Ahmad Dixon with a record of 45 tackles
  • Cedric Reed with a record of 3.0 sacks

Related: Vantrel McMillan – Biography of a Black American Football Player.

Feel free to check our homepage for articles about other personalities worldwide.

Read Next: San Antonio Brahmas – Everything You Should Know.

More Reading

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *