Houston Gamblers

The Houston Gamblers – Everything You Should Know

This post will let you gain insights about the Houston Gamblers, an American professional football team competing in the United States Football League (USFL).


  • Founded in 2021 and owned by National Spring Football League Enterprises Co, LLC, (Fox Sports)
  • Headquartered in Houston, Texas, USA
  • Uses the Simmons Bank Liberty Stadium, Memphis, Tennessee, USA, as their home stadium

Let’s now get down to business!

Who is the Houston Gamblers?

The Houston Gamblers is a professional football team established in 2021. They have their headquarters in Houston, Texas. Their home stadium is Simmons Bank Liberty Stadium, located in Memphis, Tennessee. The team colors are Gambler red, black, white, and yellow.

Houston Gamblers logo
Houston Gamblers logo


The Houston Gamblers is one of the eight football teams founded as a USFL franchise in 2021. Their establishment was announced on The Herd with Colin Cowherd, an American sports talk radio show, on November 22, 2021.

On January 6, 2022, Kevin Sumlin, a former NCAA Football Head coach, became their head coach and general manager. The Houston Gamblers played their first season game against the Michigan Panthers on April 17, 2022, in Birmingham, Alabama. The game was hosted at the Protective Stadium, which the Gamblers won 17–12. Unfortunately, they lost their next seven games and were ineligible for the USFL playoffs but eventually won the last two games of the season.

Houston Gamblers team
Houston Gamblers team

A few months later, in September 2022, the Houston Gamblers publicized the hiring of a new general manager, Robert Morris.

In February 2023, the Gamblers’ head coach, Kevin left to join the Maryland Terrapins football team. The football team then had to hire a new head coach in the person of Curtis Johnson. Curtis was formerly an assistant coach at the New Orleans Saints football team.

Houston Gamblers’ Staff

Here are different lists of all the people employed by the Houston Gamblers football team.

  • Curtis Johnson – Head Coach
  • Robert Morris – General Manager

Offensive coaches

  • Ray Rychleski – Special Teams/Tight Ends
  • Garrett Chachere – Running Backs/Wide Receivers/Offensive Quality Control
  • Eric Price – Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Defensive coaches

  • Chris Wilson – Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Kwahn Drake – Defensive Line
  • Brett Maxie – Defensive Backs
  • Zach Shagi – Assistant Defensive Backs/Defensive Quality Control

Players on the Houston Gamblers team

As of now, the Houston Gamblers has over 50 active players. That means the following persons are currently playing for its team.


  • Montell Cozart (6)
  • Kenji Bahar (11)

Running backs

  • T. J. Pledger (29)
  • Benny LeMay (24)
  • Shermari Jones (4)

Wide receivers

  • Anthony Ratliff-Williams (1)
  • Emmanuel Butler (88)
  • Justin Hall (17)
  • Keke Chism (81)

Tight ends

  • Clint Sigg (42)
  • Rodell Rahmaan (86)

Offensive linemen

  • Na’Ty Rodgers T (51)
  • Jakari Robinson G/C
  • Bamidele Olaseni T
  • Jair Joseph G (65)

Defensive linemen

  • Tim Bonner DE (45)
  • Josh Avery DE (92)
  • Reggie Walker DE (59)
  • Damion Daniels DT (99)
  • Isaiah Chambers DE (40)
  • Guy Thomas DE (50)
  • Jeffery Johnson DT (55)
  • Chigozie Nnoruka DT (93)


  • Khalan Tolson LB (44)
  • Chris Garrett OLB (80)
  • Isaiah Pryor LB (30)
  • Ronheen Bingham OLB (15)
  • Jeremiah Tyler LB (18)
  • Marcel Spears Jr. LB (27)

Defensive backs

  • Jeremiah Johnson S (2)
  • Donald Rutledge Jr. DB (38)
  • Jalen Green S (31)
  • Richard Bowens CB
  • Tyler Coyle S
  • Nick Grant CB (20)
  • Justin Ford CB
  • Manny Bunch S (22)
  • Elijah Jones CB (33)
  • Jai Nunn-Liddell CB
  • Elijah Rodgers CB
  • Dayan Lake S (25)
  • Bydarrius Knighten CB (5)

Special teams

Here are the players on the field during kicking plays of the Houston Gamblers’ games:

  • Hunter Niswander P (94)
  • Logan Klusman LS
  • Gabe Brkic K (47)

Reserve lists

Below are the unrestricted free agents that serves the Houston Gamblers:

  • Ikenna Onwuasoanya DT (92)
  • Julian Allen TE (86)
  • Andrew Galitz P (13)
  • Nick Buchanan C (66)
  • Teo Redding WR (9)
  • Mark Thompson RB (7)
  • Tyler Higby G (77)
  • Avery Gennesy T (74)

Related: Biography of Dawson Garcia.

Feel free to check our homepage to read other biographies and stories about various personalities worldwide.

Also Read: Dillon Jones: An Outstanding Columbia-Born Basketball Player.

More Reading

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *